Black Survivors
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

THE BROKEN ROAD BOOK

2 posters

Go down

THE BROKEN ROAD BOOK Empty THE BROKEN ROAD BOOK

Post  paigewalker15 Tue Aug 28, 2012 8:29 pm

Dear Black Sexual Abuse Survivors, my name is Paige Walker, I am a Registered Nurse, and single mom of an 11year old living in Auckland New Zealand.

Sexual abuse is undoubtedly every mother's worst nightmare and mothers need healing and support too.
I would like to share my story and book with you as I think you might be interested in this as it is, I believe the first written from a mothers perspective in New Zealand.

Three years ago I found out that my daughter then only 8 years old had been sexually abused by my best friend's husband. I took it to court and won our case, but he was given special consideration and only received 12months home detention as he was 63 years old as they said he wouldn't cope with a jail sentence.

As a survivor (MOTHER) I decided to write a book of my experience as I felt it was important that the trauma pain and suffering mothers go though is validated and given a voice.

My book details the affect my daughter's sexual abuse had on me, but it is also designed as a self help/tool for new parents trying to find their way through this ordeal as I did as it includes a detailed list of organisations affiliated with child sexual abuse for easy access and help.

My passion is to highlight the traumatic affects of abuse and help break the silence on Sexual Abuse as it is rapidly becoming a world wide epidemic and it needs to be addressed especially here in New Zealand.