Black Survivors
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Meet the Administrator

+2
equality7
Admin
6 posters

Go down

Meet the Administrator Empty Meet the Administrator

Post  Admin Fri Jan 09, 2009 3:25 pm

Hi,
I'm Sylvia, also the administrator. I would like to welcome you to blacksurvivors.org, the online support group. I developed this support group so that black sexual abuse survivors would know that they're not alone..that they can lean upon each other and do so annonymously. You will see me posting alot of things on this site, but feel free to ask myself or anyone in this group whatever's on your mind. Just a little about me, I'm in my early 30s, and I've written a memoir detailing my own story and recovery as a survivor (http://www.lulu.com/content/2533021). I am also a writer and an editor. In additon, I teach workshops for adult, black sexual abuse survivors and their supporters. I enjoy helping other sexual abuse survivors and I consider this online support group one of many ways to heal.

Sylvia

Admin
Admin

https://blacksurvivors.forumotion.com

Back to top Go down

Meet the Administrator Empty Re: Meet the Administrator

Post  equality7 Thu Jan 15, 2009 11:59 am

Hi. I too am a survivor. Heard about this site a few years ago and was blessed with information that helped me become more aware of myself.
Since my self realization in 1994 I began my quest to rid myself of this "thing" hanging on me like a dead animal.
The information on the website was more of an insight as to why I acted out when I was younger. By the age of 9 I was a "regular" in the principals office, constantly getting into fights in and out of school.
I brought a gun to school in the 3rd grade to scare a kid trying to bully me. (Yes, I was caught and was sentenced to probation for 4 years). My hostile behavior towards others and my "promiscuous" behavior throughout my younger years got worse until I reached high school.